Bart Oates (1980-82)

Oates snapped the ball to both Jim McMahon and Steve Young at BYU before going on to a long and successful NFL career, which included a Super Bowl win and three Pro Bowl appearances.

Backup: Trevor Matich

Honorable mention: SeteAulai, Scott Jackson, Larry Moore, Garry Pay, Lance Reynolds, Jr., Jason Scukanec, Robert Stephens


Mo Elewonibi (1988-89), Evan Pilgrim (1991-94)

Elewonibi earned the Outland Trophy as a senior, when he graded out four times with perfect pass protection. Pilgrim was a three-year starter.

Backups: Craig Garrick,Robert Anae

Honorable mention: JohnBorgia, Calvin Close, Lloyd Eldredge, Ray Feinga, Tim Hanshaw, Matt Johnson, Bryan May, Dallas Reyolds, Teag Whiting, Joe Wong, Scott Young


Nick Eyre (1976, 1979-80), John Tait (1996-98)

Eyre, nicknamed “The Bear,” was BYU’s first consensus All-America lineman. Tait anchored the Cougar O-line in 1996 and was a first-round draft pick.

Backups: Dave Wright, John Hunter

Honorable mention: Jason Andersen, Eric Bateman, Scott Brumfield, Rex Burningham, Mike Empey, Wayne Faalafua, Neal Fort, Eli Herring, Eddie Keele, Mike Keim, Jake Kuresa, MattReynolds, Dustin Rykert, Vince Stroth

Tight end

Gordon Hudson (1981-83)

Hudson set new standards at this position. Not only was he a two-time All-America, but he set four NCAArecords for tight ends: most yards in a game (259), most yards in a career (2,484), most catches per game for a career (5.39).

Backups: Chad Lewis, Dennis Pitta, Clay Brown

Honorable mention: Jonny Harline, Doug Jolley, Itula Mili, David Mills, Trevor Molini, Gabe Reid, Byron Rex, Chris Smith



Wide receivers

Austin Collie (2004, 2007-08), Cody Hoffman (2010-2013)

Collie starred for the Cougars as a true freshman, then had two more amazing seasons before leaving early for the NFL draft. He caught a school-record 106 passes for 1,538 yards in 2008.

In 2013, Hoffman broke all of BYU’s career receiving records previously belonging to Collie and Dennis Pitta.

Backups: Glen Kozlowski, Eric Drage, Mark Bellini, Margin Hooks

Honorable mention: Tyler Anderson, Andy Boyce, Matt Braga, Ben Cahoon, Chuck Cutler, Lloyd Jones, K.O. Kealaluhi, Reno Mahe, Dan Plater, Todd Watkins



Running backs

Luke Staley (1999-2001), Harvey Unga (2006-2009)

When healthy, Staley and his massive calves ran over and through many opposing defenses. In just three injury-abbreviated seasons, BYU’s Mr. Touchdown set many school records and earned the school’s only Doak Walker Award, emblematic of the nation’s top running back. Unga is BYU’s all-time leading rusher (3,355 yards), though Jamaal Williams is on track to pass him sometime next year.

Backups: Jamal Willis, Lakei Heimuli, Ronney Jenkins, Jamaal Williams, Curtis Brown

Honorable mention: MattBellini, Kalin Hall, Waymon Hamilton, Hema Heimuli, Homer Jones, Eric Lane,Brian McDonald, Brian McKenzie, Robert Parker, Scott Phillips, Kelly Smith,Eddie Stinnett, Casey Tiumalu, Peter Tuipulotu, Marcus Whalen



Jim McMahon (1977-78, 1980-81)

Of all of the aforementioned selections, this is the one that will be the most scrutinized, and for goodreason. BYU boasts a Heisman Trophy winner, and multiple Sammy Baugh and Davey O’Brien Award winners. Cougar quarterbacks own numerous NCAA passing records and one led his team to a national championship. The pick is McMahon because he no QB had a better winning percentage (25-3 as a starter). He was a two-time All-America, won a pair of conference championships and was the highest NFLdraft pick in school history (No. 5 overall) and guided the Chicago Bears to a Super Bowl victory.

Backups: Steve Young, Ty Detmer, Robbie Bosco

Honorable mention: John Beck, Max Hall, Brandon Doman, Steve Sarkisian, John Walsh


1922-1979 BYU Dream Team

Quarterback — Gifford Nielson, Marc Wilson, Gary Sheide, Virgil Carter

Tailback — Eldon Fortie, Pete VanValkenburg, Dick Felt, Jeff Blanc, Weldon Jackson

Fullback — Todd Christensen, John Ogden, Bill Ring

Wide receivers — Phil Odle, Jay Miller, Mike Chronister, Golden Richards

Tight end — Marion Probert, Brian Billick, Tod Thompson

Offensive linemen — Paul Howard, Gordon Gravelle, Keith Uperesa, Lance Reynolds, Sr., Mel Olson, Lloyd Fairbanks, Al Gaspard, Tom Bell, Scott Nielson, Brad Oates

Defensive lineman — Paul Linford, Mat Mendenhall, Wayne Baker, Mekeli Ieremia, Keith Rivera, Ross Varner

Linebackers — Craig Bozich, Ron Tree, Larry Carr, Sid Smith, Rod Wood, Curg Belcher

Defensive backs — Dan Hansen, Chris Farasopoulos, Dave Atkinson, Jason Coloma

Punter — Rich Adams

Placekicker — Joe Liljenquist

Kick returns specialists — Golden Richards, Chris Farasopoulos, Paul Allen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *