New Utah missions, mission presidents announced

(Image courtesy LDS Media Library.)

(Image courtesy LDS Media Library)

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints announced the creation of 11 new missions today, including two in Utah and one in Utah County. The Church also announced the call of 120 new mission presidents.

The Utah Orem Mission will open in July with Chris D. Killpack as president. Orem is currently part of the Utah Provo Mission. Jerald K. Allred will serve as president of the newly created Utah Logan Mission.

Richard W. Moffat, current president of the Utah Salt Lake City Central Mission, will not be replaced in 2015 because the mission will be absorbed into surrounding missions. L. Scott Palmer will be the new president of the Utah Salt Lake City West Mission.

Other missions in Utah will also welcome new presidents in July. Jeremy R. Jaggi will serve as president of the Utah Ogden Mission and John C. Hodgman will preside over the Utah Provo Mission.

Other newly created missions include two more in the United States, six in Central and South America, and one in Europe.

The LDS missionary force remains strong more than two years after the Church lowered age requirements for missionaries. As of this week, 84,728 missionaries are serving around the world.



Breanna Olaveson worked in the magazine industry before taking her writing from full-time to nap time with the birth of her first daughter. Her work has appeared in the Ensign, Liahona and New Era magazines, as well as Utah Valley Magazine, Utah Valley BusinessQ, Utah Valley Bride and the Provo Daily Herald. She lives in Utah county with her husband and three children. She blogs at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *