09192017

Your Picture-Perfect Winter Wonderland guide to Heber Valley

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestmail

It’s not holly or jolly to spend more time getting to your destination than enjoying the actual getaway. Here are 14 delightful reasons to head a short 20 minutes up Provo Canyon to Heber City and Midway during the most wonderful time of the year.  Get ready to dine, stay and play. 

Dine

June Pie announces its menu each week on social media. Pictured here is the sugar cream pie.

June Pie announces its menu each week on social media. Pictured here is the sugar cream pie.

  • Who says frozen goodies are only for summer? In addition to American food and barbecue, Spin Cafe serves homemade gelato in downtown Heber. Spincafe.net
  • If a handmade fresh pie makes your taste buds jingle, check out June Pie. junepie.com
  • Toy trains on little toy tracks pass through the toy town of Heber City on the ceiling of Dairy Keen, a burger joint. dairykeen.com
  • Whether you’re looking for a last-minute gift or a way to experience a local dairy, drop by Heber Valley Artisan Cheesehebervalleyartisancheese.com

Stay

Homestead Resort

Homestead Resort

  • If snowmobiling is a must-rev on your winter itinerary, check out Daniels Summit Lodge surrounded by snow-covered hilltops. danielssummit.com  
  • Warm up near the fire at the cottage-style Homestead Resort.  homesteadresort.com 
  • If you feel there’s no place like home for the holidays, discover the two-story Hiking Inn. thehikinginn.com 
  • Have yourself a merry little stay at the Zermatt Resort in Midway. zermattresort.com

Play

Heber Valley Railroad

Heber Valley Railroad

  • All aboard! The iconic Heber Valley Railroad turns into the North Pole Express during the winter months. hebervalleyrr.org
  • Dash through the snow on a sleigh ride by Rocky Mountain Outfitters. rockymtnoutfitters.com/sleigh-rides 
  • Experience the full, chilly grandeur of Heber City and Midway on a hot air balloon ride. skywalker.at 
  • The ice glows bright at the Midway Ice Castles, normally open from January–February, weather permitting. icecastles.com/midway
  • See folks dressed up like eskimos at the outdoor Midway Ice Rink, open from late November to early March. midwaycityicerink.com 
  • Jolly, happy souls enjoy tubing the 1,200 foot sliding lanes at Soldier Hollow. soldierhollow.com/tubing
Like this story(0)

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment