Parents in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints “have a sacred duty to rear their children in love and righteousness, … and to teach them to … observe the commandments of God,” according to “The Family: A Proclamation to the World.” So when general conference rolls around, it’s up to Mom and Dad to make sure kids hear the words of living prophets, right?

However, that’s more easily said than done. Here are the eight stages of teaching young children to love general conference. Wherever your young family is in this cycle, remember Elder Joseph B. Wirthlin’s counsel: “Come what may, and love it.”

1. The “We can do it!” stage

2. The “It’s working!” stage

3. The “Please listen” stage

4. The “Yes, we have to do it again” stage

5. The “this is harder today than it was yesterday” stage

6. The “we want to play” stage

7. The “where did they go?” stage

8. The “come back here for ONE MORE MINUTE” stage

9. The “we did it, and maybe they learned something” stage 

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *