Provo Mayor John Curtis gives his acceptance speech during election night. (Photo by Trevor Christensen)

Chris Herrod conceded the 3rd Congressional District primary to Provo Mayor John Curtis after the primary election results were updated on Friday afternoon.

With the updated results three days following the election, Curtis led with 43.27 percent, Herrod had 32.24 percent of the votes while Tanner Ainge — who conceded Tuesday night — had 24.49 percent of the votes. The Associated Press called the 3-way race on election night around 10 p.m.

Curtis released a statement following the updated results on Friday:

“Chris Herrod has just called and graciously conceded. I’m grateful and humbled by the support of the Republican voters in Utah’s third district. Leading up to November 7th, our campaign will focus on uniting not only Republicans in the district but all residents behind our message. The message is the same as it was for our pioneer ancestors: using principles of industry, thrift, hard work and personal responsibility, we can tackle all of our country’s difficult problems and get things done.”

Most of the Utah County ballots have been counted; however, there are still the provisional and unaffiliated ballots remaining to be counted. Utah County Clerk/Auditor Bryan Thompson says his team will resume counting ballots at the beginning of next week. The next update will be on Tuesday, Aug. 22 at 3 p.m.

“In a normal election, you are pretty much done at the end of the day on election day. In a mail-in environment, you get so much that come in last minute that you don’t know the results on election day.” — Bryan Thompson, Utah County Clerk/Auditor

“In a normal election, you are pretty much done at the end of the day on election day,” Thompson said. “In a mail-in environment, you get so much that come in last minute that you don’t know the results on election day.”

Official results won’t be available until Aug. 29. At that time, the Board of Canvassers will meet at 3 p.m. to review primary election results.



View the updated primary election results as they currently stand for all Utah County cities here.

Third Congressional District (1 advances)
Chris Herrod 22,157
John Curtis 29,733
Tanner Ainge 16,831

Alpine mayor (2 advance)
Sheldon Wimmer 785
Rob Schoen 207
Troy Stout 634
Melanie Ewing 275

American Fork mayor (2 advance)
Carlton E. Bowen 465
Brad Frost 2,514
Daniel Copper 115

American Fork City Council (4 advance)
Bill Houlin 83
Jeffrey Shorter 693
Kyle Barratt 718
Doug Richards 412
Ernie John 666
Barbara Christiansen 1,476
Staci Carroll 1,187
Aaron Clegg 371

Eagle Mountain mayor (2 advance)
Debbie Hooge 326
Stephanie Gricius 515
Jonathan Vail 124
Taylor Malungahu 78
Tom Westmoreland 1,092

Eagle Mountain City Council (4 advance)
Lonnie Petersen 295
Jan M Preece 390
Tyler Shimakonis 52
Donna Burnham 1,004
Jared Gray 554
Matt Visser 408
Drew Curley 364
Melissa Clark 757
Brett Mansfield 191

Highland Mayor (2 advance)
Jessie J. Schoenfeld 671
Sam Orton 142
Wayne Knoll Tanaka 135
Cal Miller 56
Rod Mann 1,380

Highland City Council Seat (4 advance)
Chris Dayton 214
Scott L. Smith 708
Tim Ball 382
Kevin Braddy 48
Christopher Kemp 593
Kurt Ostler 1,076
Lawrence U. Vidinha 18
John Hans Thomas 66
Dennis LeBaron 804
Elisabeth Luntz 357
Audrey Wright 270

Lehi mayor (2 advance)
R. Curtis Payne 579
Cody Black 965
Nolan J. Johnson 56
Mark I. Johnson 1,328
Bert Wilson 1,715

Lehi City Council (4 advance)
Paul C. Hancock 2,480
Bailey Holmes 1,365
Steven Sabey 753
Chris Condie 2,820
Sean Williams 895

Orem mayor (2 advance)
Richard F. Brunst Jr. 6,281
Hans V. Andersen 3,276
Archie A. Williams III 338

Orem City Council (6 advance)
Annette Harkness 2,348
David M. Spencer 4,744
Brent Sumner 5,111
Garrett Bodily 857
Melodee Andersen 2,925
Bart Richman 739
Drew Clark 1,414
Tom Macdonald 5,386
Kayson R. Max 274
Murray Low 2,106
Tommy Williams 668
Mattathias Westwood 682

Payson mayor (2 advance)
Mike Hardy 497
Richard D. Moore 248
Bill Wright 1,061

Payson City Council (4 advance)
Scott Pinkham 373
Scott Phillips 520
Taresa Hiatt 558
James Ewell 308
Larry Skinner 675
Brett Christensen 493
Randy Memmott 155
Thomas Guy Larson 239

Pleasant Grove City Council (4 advance)
Carrie Hammond 255
Roy F. Spindler 36
Ben Stanley 1,102
Nathan Stoker 216
Jeffrey Butler 249
Dianna N. Andersen 1,674
Blaine Thatcher 1,213
Eric Taylor 225
Todd Williams 1,384

Provo mayor (2 advance)
Sherrie Hall Everett 1,888
Eric W. Speckhard 656
Howard Stone 199
Michelle G. Kaufusi 2,885
John Fenley 61
Elliott G. Craig 50
Odell Miner 2,044
Kevin “The Wingman” Wing 106
Larry Walters 1,642

Provo Council District 2 (2 advance)
George Handley 453
David Clark 285
Leo Lines 147

Provo Council at-large (2 advance)
Hunter Phillips 1,430
Dave Sewell 4,663
Mike Roan 1,287
Wesley Marriott 1,502

Saratoga Springs City Council (4 advance)
Leah Hansen 667
Josh Daniels 530
Raymond B Campbell 274
Michael D.S. McOmber 689
Stephen Willden 905

Vineyard mayor (2 advance)
Shawn Scott Herring 73
Julie Fullmer 122
Randy E. Farnworth 122

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *