BYU football selects 8 team captains for 2018 season


BYU football announced eight team captains for the 2018 season. (Photo by BYU Photo)

BYU football head coach Kalani Sitake announced the team captains for the 2018 season. For the 2018 season, team members voted on the captains and the coaches announced the selected leaders on Monday.

There are eight total captains: four offensive and four defensive.

“I’m pleased to announce our captains for the season,” Sitake said in a press release. “This year we have selected eight players to serve as captains and I’m excited about that. They will rotate the coin toss responsibilities while each will have a strong role in leading our team inside the locker room and on and off the field.”

On offense, BYU senior quarterback Tanner Mangum, senior running back Brayden El-Bakri, senior offensive lineman Austin Hoyt and junior wide receiver Micah Simon will serve as captains.

On defense, senior linebackers Butch Pau’u, Zayne Anderson and Sione Takitaki and senior defensive lineman Corbin Kaufusi will be the leading representatives for the team.

This is the second consecutive year that two BYU players — Mangum and Pau’u — were selected by their teammates as captains.

Learn more at

Rebecca Lane

While her first language is sarcasm, Rebecca dabbles in English and Russian to achieve her lifelong dream of being a journalist. A BYU sports fan, reading enthusiast and wannabe world traveler, Rebecca is a Colorado transplant that is convinced Colorado's mountains are much larger than the many Utah County peaks. Rebecca manages for Bennett Communications. Follow her on Twitter @rebeccalane.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *