2018 Utah County election results: Romney headed to U.S. Senate


Mitt Romney speaks to supporters at his campaign headquarters in Orem, Utah after the initial election results were posted Tuesday, Nov. 6, 2018. (Photo courtesy Mitt Romney Facebook)

Though final election results won’t be available for weeks, a few election races wrapped up following Election Day.

Most notably, former Republican presidential candidate Mitt Romney secured the U.S. senate seat which will be available in January after Republican Sen. Orrin Hatch retires. With more than 40 years of service in the Senate, Hatch is the longest-serving Republican in the Senate.

Romney spoke to supporters gathered at his campaign headquarters in Orem after the initial election results were posted on Tuesday night, the Daily Herald reported.

“The victory tonight is more than a victory of a candidate for state senate. I believe it’s a call for greater dignity and respect …” he said. “It is also a call for action. Action on items that are long past due. Action to finally get us on a path to a balanced budget. Action to reform our immigration system so that legal immigration welcomes people and illegal immigration is ended. And action to push back against the heavy hand of the federal government, because Utah knows best what’s right for Utah.”

Some Utah County election races are neck and neck: the U.S. House of Representatives District 4 race between Democrat candidate Ben McAdams (92,975) and Republican candidate Mia Love (85,624) is close; Provo voters are torn on the new police, fire and city facilities bond with 5,481 for the bond and 5,560 against the bond; and Orem Proposition 5 calling for a zone change for student housing is one vote apart.

Take a look at the 2018 Utah County election results as of Tuesday, Nov. 6 at 10 p.m.

So here’s the election results (so far):

U.S. Senate
Mitt Romney: 466,580 (winner)
Jenny Wilson: 237,867
Tim Aalders: 19,855
Craig R. Bowden: 17,258
Reed C. McCandless: 8,279

U.S. House of Representatives District 3
John Curtis: 108,461
James Courage Singer: 46,420
Timothy L. Zeidner: 3,514
Gregory C. Duerden: 3,630

U.S. House of Representatives District 4
Ben McAdams: 92,975
Mia Love: 85,624

Utah State Senate District 11
Dan McCay: 18,076
Christian Burridge: 8,736

Utah State Senate District 15
Keith Grover: 10,447
Lee D. Houghton: 1,688
Tommy Williams: 1,134

Utah House District 2
Jefferson R. Moss: 5,162
Tyler Allred: 1,154

Utah House District 6
Cory Maloy: 5,536 (winner)

Utah House District 27
Brady Brammer: 6,132
Elisabeth Luntz: 1,541
Joseph Geddes Buchman: 208
Curt Crosby: 152

Utah House District 48
Keven J. Stratton: 5,864
Aaron Heineman: 778

Utah House District 56
Kay J. Christofferson: 5,929 (winner)

Utah House District 57
Jon Hawkins: 4,902
Hillary Stirling: 1,364

Utah House District 59
Val L. Peterson: 4,786
Gregory Hmura: 900

Utah House District 60
Brad Daw: 4,597
Alan F. Keele: 1,549

Utah House District 61
Marsha Judkins: 3,965
Eric Chase: 648
Matt Styles: 407

Utah House District 63
Adam Robertson: 1,441 (winner)

Utah House District 64
Norm Thurston: 2,284
Daniel Craig Friend: 1,043
Hal Miller: 556

Utah House District 65
Francis D. Gibson: 5,524
Sue A Womack: 1,596

Utah House District 66
Mike McKell: 5,791
Paul Jones Dayton: 1,061

Utah House District 67
Marc Roberts: 6,209 (winner)

Utah House District 68
Merrill Nelson: 9,074
Merle Travis Wall: 2,017
Kirk D. Pearson: 854
Denyse Housley Cox: 500
Warren Rogers: 235

Utah County Clerk/Auditor
Amelia Powers: 66,650
Jason Christensen: 13,659

Utah County Attorney
David O. Leavitt: 67,804
W. Andrew McCullough: 14,162

Utah County Commission Seat A
Tanner Ainge: 67,567
Teri McCabe: 14,598

Utah County Commission Seat B
Bill Lee: 60,729
Jeanne Bowen: 21,896

Utah County Commission Sheriff
Mike Smith: 75,060 (winner)

State School Board District 9
Cindy Davis: 18,752
Avalie Muhlestein: 8,308

State School Board District 14
Mark A. Huntsman: 34,372 (winner)

Alpine School Board Seat 1
Julie King: 3,599
Audrey Barton: 2,114

Alpine School Board Seat 2
Amber L. Bonner: 3,279
Carla Merrill: 2,460

Alpine School Board Seat 3
Sarah Beeson: 4,185
Afa K. Palu: 2,112

Alpine School Board Seat 5
Ada Wilson: 4,428
Seth Marble: 1,094

Nebo School Board Seat 2
Scott P. Card: 3,139

Nebo School Board Seat 4
Rick B. Ainge: 1,810
Drew Daniels: 1,252

Nebo School Board Seat 5
Shannon M. Acor: 1,837 (winner)

Provo School Board Seat 1
Nate Bryson: 1,740 (winner)

Provo School Board Seat 2
Melanie Hall: 856
Paul R. Warner: 590

Provo School Board Seat 3
McKay R. Jensen: 846 (winner)

Provo School Board Seat 4
Jennifer Partridge: 1,209

Constitutional Amendment A
For: 377,902
Against: 103,854

Constitutional Amendment B
Against: 354,846
For: 127,525

Constitutional Amendment C
For: 299,548
Against: 179,385

Nonbinding Opinion Question 1 – Gas Tax
Against: 487,778
For: 251,480

Proposition Number 2 – Medical Cannabis
For: 400,258
Against: 349,770

Proposition Number 3 – Medicaid Expansion
For: 399,654
Against: 337,104

Proposition Number 4 – Redistricting
For: 256,374
Against: 231,374

Nebo School District Bond
For the issuance of bonds: 12,461
Against the issuance of bonds: 9,467

Orem Family Fitness Center and Library Hall Bond
For the issuance of bonds: 8,645
Against the issuance of bonds: 5,497

Orem Proposition 5 – Zone Change for Student Housing
For: 7,138
Against: 7,137

Pleasant Grove Proposition 8 – Parks and Recreation Facilities CARE Tax
For: 3,248
Against: 2,112

Provo Police, Fire and City Facilities Bond
Against the issuance of bonds: 5,560
For the issuance of bonds: 5,481

Spanish Fork Sales Tax for Recreational Amenities
Yes: 3,591
No: 2,033

Santaquin Tax for Parks, Arts, Recreation and Culture
Yes: 924
No: 676

Follow live election results at electionresults.utah.gov.

Rebecca Lane

While her first language is sarcasm, Rebecca dabbles in English and Russian to achieve her lifelong dream of being a journalist. A BYU sports fan, reading enthusiast and wannabe world traveler, Rebecca is a Colorado transplant that is convinced Colorado's mountains are much larger than the many Utah County peaks. Rebecca manages UtahValley360.com for Bennett Communications. Follow her on Twitter @rebeccalane.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *